top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJeff Rowthorn

Hang In There

After running a 50k race that I was really pleased with last weekend at Conquer the Canuck, my strategy for the Niagara Ultra 50k was up in the air. I decided to run the first 25k comfortably enough that I wasn't suffering but fast enough that if I felt really good, I would be in a position to have a good race time - maybe even a 50k personal best. In my head, I decided that my 25k turnaround goal time would be 2:00:00.


I've now run this race 3 times: the 50k twice and the 100k once. Prior to last weekend, my best ever 50k was on this course. With that being said, each time I have run this race I have had a significant blow up. This year was no exception. The first time I ran the 50k, I ran a great first 30k and then started to fall apart. By 35k, I was really suffering and contemplated quitting. When I ran the 100k, I was more conservative and felt good until 50k. By 60k, I had started to throw-up and I was forced to walk the rest. That's right, I WALKED 40K! I think that there are a few factors that have led to my demise each year. First of all, I am not conditioned to run that far on asphalt. The surface is very unforgiving and causes me to hurt earlier than usual. Next, it is always hot. This year wasn't as bad as the other years that I participated and was actually ideal for the first 2:30:00. After that, it got hot and the course had plenty of exposed sections. Finally, the course is actually too fast of a course for me to run well. I understand that this statement is confusing but, basically, it is such a fast and runnable course that my instinct is always to run it like a road marathon with 8k added to the end. However, my fitness simply isn't there. There are only 2 hills that I would normally consider big enough to justify walking- this year I ran them both. I ended up doing plenty of walking, just not on the hills!


The first 30k were uneventful other than the fact that I ran with a great group of 6 runners, which eventually dwindled to 3, and then 2: my friend Neela (who went on to run a spectacular race with close to even splits and came in as the top female) and myself. I told her that I was only going to run with her for 25k and then let her go since I was trying to run a smart race. The mist from Niagara Falls felt great at the turnaround point and gave me a bit of a boost. I decided to hang with her for a while longer. We tackled some hills together and then, at the 30k aid station, I let her go. I was still feeling good but wanted to try to put off the unavoidable suffering for as long as possible. Apparently, "as long as possible" was 2k.


By 32k, my pace had slowed down significantly and eventually, I was walking. I was still primarily running but my short walk breaks were definitely becoming longer and more frequent. I really wanted to get to the 37k point, where a long downhill section was waiting for me to crush. Ha! I eventually got there and while the downhill section was a nice change, I actually ran it faster going uphill in the first half of the race. By the time I reached the bottom, I felt like I was in trouble. I wasn't taking in any calories and was now uncomfortably hot and sweating profusely. I did the math and figured that I would walk it in from here and try to sneak in just under 5 hours.


I hit the 40k aid station and ate some orange slices and a piece of a banana. I also filled my hat with ice, which I believe played a crucial role in me turning my race around. I left the aid station jogging. My goal was simple: run 1km and take a walking break. I ran 1km and decided to push on another 500m. I still felt okay and was actually starting to get some momentum going again so I carried on. I eventually got to 4.5k before taking a walking break leading into the final aid station. I caught up to another runner named Danny, who had passed me 5k earlier. We worked and suffered together through the rest of the race

and finished side-by-side. Working with Danny definitely allowed me to shave some minutes off of my time and I appreciated his company.


Although I fell apart, I walked away quite happy. It was a valuable learning experience and a reminder that when all seems to be lost, it is possible to find your way again. Take some time and figure out what the root of the problem is and then work towards fixing it.

I didn't take any photos so enjoy this inspiration kitten that refuses to give up.

124 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page