top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJeff Rowthorn

The Numbers


Climbing Mt. Hamell (Canadian Death Race)

It was a busy year of running. I thought that it might be fun to have a look at the numbers for 2018 and create a list of all of my favourite race elements of the year.


Number of races: 47

Kilometres raced: 1,517km

Average race distance: 32.27km

Average race frequency: 1 race every 7.76 days

Total running kilometres for 2018: My tracking was a bit sloppy. About 4,500-5,000km.

Pairs of shoes: At least 12

Races I was late for: 2 (for 1 of them I wasn't late, just missed the start)

Physiotherapy Appointments: 0 (this was one of my biggest mistakes)

Training runs on the treadmill: WAY too many. Probably over 150.

Number of days I ran: 365 (no rest for the wicked)

Run streak days: 1221 days (started August 28, 2015, stopping January 1, 2019)

Number of races in which I wanted to quit: 47

Number of races in which I REALLY wanted to quit: 4

Number of races in which I threw-up: A couple. Less than average.

Number of times I fell: Less than 10

Number of times I fell HARD: I think only 1 (Albion Grind)


With all of this running and racing, I often get people asking me about my favourites. Honestly, it's really hard to choose because there are so many different aspects of each race to consider. The conversation usually goes something like this:


friend: Out of all the races you did this year, what was your favourite?

me: I liked them all. It's hard to choose.

friend: Ok, but if you had to choose...

me: Well, there is just so much to consider. All of the races are unique in their own way.

friend: Yeah, but if you had to choose...

me: Hmmm. They were all great. I met so many cool people and ran in some interesting events.

friend: Ok, ok, ok. But if you HAD to choose...

me: It's really hard to compare a road race to a trail ultramarathon.

friend: BUT IF YOU HAD TO CHOOSE...


I decided, against my better judgement, to come up with some of my favourite aspects of the racing I did this year. Obviously, this is just my opinion and I don't expect anyone to agree with me. Also, I'm not including any of my own Happy Trails Racing events since that would be lame.





Top 3 List (in no particular order):


Best Race Swag:

-Chase the Coyote- Gloves

-Pick Your Poison- Honey

-The Chocolate Race- Chocolate


Best Race Value:

-Brant Death Racers Free Race (donation)

-The Lung Burner (donation)

-The Beer Mile (free)


Best Race Value for races that aren't free:

-Head for the Hills Trail Race

-MEC trail race (all MEC races really)

-Hell in the Harbour




Best Race Finishing Award:

-Rocky Raccoon vintage belt buckle/ Brazos Bend Belt Buckle (tie)

-Georgia Death Race railroad spike

-Canadian Death Race finisher's coin and custom printed can of local craft beer







Best Race Finishing Medal:

-The Limberlost Challenge

-The Niagara Ultra

-Chase the Coyote







Coolest Bib

-Georgia Death Race (coffin shaped)

-Run for the Toad (full name)

-Brazos Bend (itty bitty)









Best Race Placement Award:

-The Beer Mile (gold T-Rex trophy with beer in hand)

-The Brant Death Racers Free Race ("you are a winner" paper)

-The Cambridge Mill (Saucony shoes)






Best Personal Performance of the Year:

-Ancaster Mill 10k

-Conquer the Canuck 50k

-The Beer Mile


Worst Personal Performance of the Year:

-12 Mile Creek Half Marathon

-Sulphur Springs 25k

-Pick Your Poison 50k


Best Race Vibe:

-The Lung Burner

-Brant Death Racers Free Race

-The Bad Thing


Most Memorable Moments:

-Trading underwear with Jamie at Chase the Coyote

-Running the entire Canadian Death Race with Heather

-Running the Road2Hope marathon in a Christmas onesie with Heather


Most Challenging Races:

-Georgia Death Race

-Canadian Death Race

-The Limberlost Challenge



Most Fun at a Race:

-Milton Try-a-Tri with Rhonda-Marie Parke

-The Bad Thing

-The Brant Death Racers Free Race (relay)


Best Aid Stations:

-Rocky Raccoon 100 miler

-Brazos Bend 100 miler

-Georgia Death Race (free shots!)


Worst Race Conditions (Mother Nature):

-Brazos Bend 100 miler- MUD!

-Albion Grind- Heavy rain and MUD!

-Rocky Raccoon 100 miler- MUD!



Best View:

-Canadian Death Race (3 amazing mountain summit views)

-Many on the Genny (plenty of incredible gorge views)

-Niagara Ultra (spectacular view of Niagara Falls)





There you have it. Done!

2019 is going to be a more chill year. A few big races, a few triathlons (yep, you read that right), and some adventures without a watch. We hope to do some through-hiking/ fastpacking and will hopefully finally finish the Bruce Trail. We are focusing more on our Happy Trails Racing events and have added some events to our roster. We're going to try to get some big stuff off the ground for 2020.


Oh yeah, before I sign off...

For next year, I was thinking 42 races of 42 km for my 42 year. Thoughts?

250 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page